‘The Twisted Tree’ spoiler-free review!

Hello lovelies! Time for another review! I read The Twisted Tree for the recent 24in48 readathon and I enjoyed it, though it wasn’t perfect. Let’s see why, shall we? πŸ™‚

the twisted tree


synopsis

Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma’s cabin and became blind in one eye.

Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor – only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in…

Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, THE TWISTED TREE is a ghost story that twists and turns – and never takes you quite where you’d expect.


my thoughts
This was one of my most anticipated releases back in January but I quickly became nervous after hearing some less-than-stellar reviews. So I lowered my expectations accordingly and waited a while to read it. I ended up being pleasantly surprised, though the book is not without its issues.

The book’s setting is definitely one of its strongest points. The desolate Norwegian landscape makes for a suitably atmospheric read that would be perfect for a cold winter’s night. The dark and spooky vibes are abundant. Burge simultaneously writes some lovely imagery and manages to create some much creepier moments than I was expecting.

The story is slow and sinister, and will certainly appeal to fans of the Gothic. I also really appreciated the Norse mythology connections and thought this added an original touch.

Sadly, I did feel like there were moments of missed potential. The book was relatively short and it wouldn’t have hurt to make it a little longer and more developed. I felt that I was left with unanswered questions by the end.

I also couldn’t fully get on board with the romance. For all the fantastical elements of the plot, it was the odd insta-love relationship between Martha and Stig that caused me the most difficulty when suspending my disbelief. Again, there was the potential for some really interesting themes to be explored (such as Martha’s disfigurement and both characters’ grief) but this potential was never fully realised.

Overall though, despite its issues, this was an enjoyable read that I would recommend for fans of atmospheric ghost stories!

the twisted tree.jpg

What are you all reading lately? I’d love to hear about it in the comments! x
signature (2)

11 thoughts on “‘The Twisted Tree’ spoiler-free review!

    • It’s not a bad book by any means! If you like the sound of it, I would still give it a go – the things that bothered me might not be an issue for you! And it’s a short book so it wouldn’t be a waste of time ❀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s