‘The Forgotten Girl’ spoiler-free review & GIVEAWAY!

Hey everyone! I’m delighted to be taking part in the Titan Books blog tour for The Forgotten Girl by Rio Youers! I pushed myself out of my comfort zone with this book and I’m so glad I did, as I ended up loving it! And I’m thrilled to be partnering with Titan to offer one lucky reader in the UK/ROI the chance to win a copy!

As always, I’ll include the book’s synopsis before my review but I do recommend going into this one blind if at all possible, so feel free to skip over it 😉

the forgotten girl review


synopsis

A dark mystery unfolds in Rio Youers’s riveting tale, for fans of Paul Tremblay and Joe Hill.

Harvey Anderson is a twenty-six-year-old busker who enjoys his peaceful life, but everything is turned upside down when he is abducted and beaten by a group of nondescript thugs. Working for a sinister man known as “the spider”, these goons have spent nine years searching for Harvey’s girlfriend, Sally Starling. Now they think they know where she lives. There’s only one problem: Sally is gone and Harvey has no memory of her. Which makes no sense to him, until he discovers that Sally has the unique ability to selectively erase a person’s memories. An ability she has used to delete herself from Harvey’s mind. But emotion runs deeper than memory, and so he goes looking for a girl he loves but can’t remember… and encounters a danger beyond anything he could ever imagine.

Political corruption and manipulation. A serial killer’s dark secrets. An appetite for absolute, terrible power… For Harvey Anderson, finding the forgotten girl comes at quite a cost.


my thoughtsThis was a seriously enjoyable read! The writing style is enthralling and I found myself swept along very easily from beginning to end. The writing is actually highly cinematic; I could easily picture everything in great detail and I think that this book would translate really well to screen!

The concept is so original and unique. As I previously said, I think it’s best to go into this one knowing as little as possible, to allow yourself to experience the shocks and thrills! In saying that, even though I had an idea of what the book was about, I still found myself glued to the pages and feeling breathless with excitement while reading. The concept intrigues continuously and builds to a very satisfying conclusion.

This is such a clever, multi-layered story. The ‘brain’ talk was completely fascinating, obviously, but there is also a nuance to the other plot elements that I really enjoyed. There’s also plenty of violence but not enough to put me off. If ever there was a book that contained something for everyone, this is it!

I’m so glad I pushed myself to try this one and I will definitely be recommending it to a few people!

the forgotten girl


giveaway blog divider.png

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Titan Books will be sending the book directly to the winner’s UK/ROI address. Good luck! 

Blog tour banner.jpg

4 thoughts on “‘The Forgotten Girl’ spoiler-free review & GIVEAWAY!

  1. Sounds like a neat concept! It also sounds a bit more thriller-y than I normally go for, though. Is it a book that you have to avoid reading while alone at night, or is it not quite that intense?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Alex’s Alphabeticals: F | the paperback piano

Leave a Reply to thepaperbackpiano Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s